Best potatoes for oven potato wedges

I have very little experience with potatoes because I rarely if ever eat them but a craving for oven potato wedges has struck. What’s the best potato for this technique? Russet?

Russet if you desire crunchy exterior fluffy interior.

One of my favorite preparations is to season the wedges with salt and pepper, sprinkle with ground rosemary and coat in olive oil. I always roast a few whole garlic cloves with the potatoes. Just before taking out of the oven I dot with goat cheese and sprinkle with paprika for color … it’s a meal in of itself.

3 Likes

Good to know. Cook’s Illustrated recommends low starch types for roasting (red skin) - but crunchy on the outside fluffy on the inside sounds great! I reflexively use red or white skin potatoes I guess.

1 Like

I will use Yukon golds if that is what I have on hand creamier on the inside but they crisp up nicely.

1 Like

Whatever type you choose, I recommend nuking them for a few minutes (not to cook through, just to soften slightly) and then roughing up the cut surfaces a bit. They will get much crispier in the oven that way!

6 Likes

As far as cutting the potatoes . I have been using a new technique . Rather than cutting the potato all the way through with a knife leaving smooth edges . I put the knife into the potato part way and twist the knife breaking off rough uneven pieces . This creates uneven knooks and crannies in the potato piece for crispness and goodness .

4 Likes

Wow that sounds perfect! The plan was potatoes for Sunday dinner so meal to itself is the idea.

I used that technique last time I made roasted red potatoes. Boil and shake in the pot.

Yes, maybe for making roast potatoes but oven fries or wedges require the russets as chowdom said, or golds if not.

Gotcha. But help me out. What’s the difference between roasting and ‘oven frying’?