Any hobbyist winemakers here?

Hi,

Just joined HO a month or so ago. I enjoyed reading the Wine forum on CH before all the crazy changes over there. Glad to have found another place like this now.

Any winemakers here ? I guess not necessarily just hobbyists…pros too :wink: At the risk of getting a bit too ‘off topic’ perhaps, curious if anyone interested in having winemaking chat threads on here. E.g. good sources of fruit, hardware, & knowledge to get even better at this hobby, and of course, have fun. If winemaking is deemed off-topic though, just let me know; i understand.

As a quick intro, I’ve been making home wine since 2010 here in Northern California. I also work P/T in the local wine biz (at a winery). So far i’ve only made reds; I hope to dabble in whites soon also, soon as i can get some appropriate refrigeration procured for my workspace. I’ve made wine from a number of varietals, as well as source appellations. I just finished bottling my latest finished wine, an Alta Mesa Malbec 2017; and now working on my 2018 Merlot (pic from harvest day this past October):

Any questions, or interest in the hobby itself, please feel free to post !

Cheers,
PS

4 Likes

Welcome pushslice! Of course winemaking posts won’t be off-topic. This site is still growing, and trying to attract food and drinks related new members. So far, wine isn’t the most active area of the forum. As far as I know, there are a few pros in the wine industry here.

Why don’t you try to invite your winemaking friends from CH to here to continue the conversations? How many bottles you made every year?

Are you really just a hobbyist? That’s a vineyard you have got!

hi naf,
Thanks, It’s nice to hear your input.
don’t have any friends from CH, but have some from ‘RL’ that may be coaxed onto here; we’ll see.